Division of Nuclear Power


The Division of Nuclear Power is responsible for providing integrated support for operating nuclear facilities and expansion of nuclear power programmes; technology development for advanced reactor lines and non-electric applications; assisting Member States considering new nuclear power programmes; and coordinating the activities of the International Project on Innovative Nuclear Reactors and Fuel Cycles (INPRO).

The Division's activities are implemented by four Sections:

Nuclear Power Engineering Section (NPES)


NPES aims at supporting Member States expanding their nuclear programme and Member States with operating nuclear power plants to improve performance, management systems, human resource management, and technical infrastructure, through best engineering practices and innovative approaches consistent with global objectives on non-proliferation, nuclear safety and security.

Nuclear Power Technology Development Section (NPTDS)


NPTDS fosters information exchange, capacity building in Member States, and collaborative research and development for nuclear reactor technologies needed to meet the increasing energy demands of the 21st century in an economic, safe and sustainable manner.

Nuclear Infrastructure Development Section (NIDS)


NIDS provides support through technical assistance, publications, missions and workshops to Member States who are considering the introduction of nuclear power and face the challenge of building the necessary national nuclear infrastructure for the first nuclear power plant.

International Project on Innovative Nuclear Reactors and Fuel Cycles Section (INPRO)


INPRO helps to ensure that nuclear energy is available to contribute to meeting the energy needs of the 21st century in a sustainable manner by bringing together nuclear technology holders and users to consider jointly international and national actions that would result in required innovations in nuclear reactors, fuel cycles or institutional approaches.