Member States Elected to IAEA Board for 2003-04

Vienna International Center

The IAEA General Conference today elected 11 Member States to the Agency's Board of Governors, the 35-member policymaking body. The elected States are Belgium, Hungary, Italy, Republic of Korea, Mexico, Nigeria, Pakistan, Peru, Poland, Tunisia, and Vietnam. They join 24 other Member States previously elected or designated to serve on the Board.

The newly constituted Board for 2003-04 now includes the following 35 States: Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Belgium, Canada, China, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, France, Germany, Hungary, India, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Pakistan, Panama, Peru, Poland, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Spain, Sudan, Tunisia, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America, and Vietnam.

The newly constituted Board will convene next week to elect the Chairman and Vice Chairmen for the 2003-04 period.

Related Links

Copyright 2003, International Atomic Energy Agency, P.O. Box 100, Wagramer Strasse 5, A-1400 Vienna, Austria
Telephone (431) 2600-0; Facsimile (431) 2600-7; E-mail: