1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content
  3. Skip to secondary content
  4. Skip to sidebar

IAEA Director General Candidates Announced

29 April 2009 | The IAEA today confirms receipt of the nomination of five candidates for Director General of the IAEA. Nominations of the following individuals have been received by the Chairperson of the IAEA Board of Governors, Ms. Taous Feroukhi: Mr. Jean-Pol Poncelet of Belgium; Mr. Yukiya Amano of Japan; Mr. Ernest Petric of Slovenia; Mr. Abdul Samad Minty of South Africa; and Mr. Luis Echavarri of Spain. The five candidates were nominated in line with a process approved by the Board in October 2008. IAEA Director General Mohamed ElBaradei´s term of office expires on 30 November 2009. He has served as Director General since 1997 and has stated that he is not available for a fourth term of office. Related Resources: » IAEA Director General Candidates Announced, 29 April 2009 » Candidates for IAEA Director General Nominated, 2 January 2009 » Nominations Opening Anew for IAEA Director General, 27 March 2009 » IAEA Board of Governors