1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content
  3. Skip to secondary content
  4. Skip to sidebar

  • More Sharing...

Board of Governors Elects New Officers

newly-elected Chairman of the Board of Governors

Ambassador Milenko E. Skoknic, the newly-elected Chairman of the Board of Governors, takes his seat in the IAEAís boardroom. (Photo: Dean Calma/IAEA)

Story Resources

The IAEA Board of Governors has elected the Governor from Chile, Mr. Milenko E. Skoknic, as its Chairman for 2007-2008 (one year mandate) at a meeting held today in Vienna. Ambassador Skoknic is the Permanent Representative of Chile to the United Nations at Vienna and Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of Chile in Austria.

The Ambassadors and Resident Representatives of Croatia and Ireland were also elected as Vice-Chairmen. They are Mr. Mario Horvatic, Governor from Croatia, and Mr. Frank Cogan, Governor from Ireland.

Eleven countries were elected last week to serve on the 35-member IAEA Board of Governors for a two-year period 2007-2008. The action was taken by Member States meeting at the IAEA General Conference in Vienna. The newly elected Board members are Albania, Algeria, Ecuador, Ghana, Iraq, Ireland, Lithuania, Mexico, Philippines, Saudi Arabia, and Switzerland.

Other Member States represented on the IAEA Board for 2007-2008 are Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Croatia, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, Morocco, Nigeria, Pakistan, Russian Federation, South Africa, Thailand, the UK, and the USA.

See Story Resources for more information