The Group of Eight


The Group of Eight (G8) is an unofficial forum of the heads of the leading industrialized democracies (Russia, the U.S., Britain, France, Japan, Germany, Canada and Italy), where the European Commission is also represented and fully participates. This forum was designed to harmonize attitudes to acute international problems. The G8 is not an international organization and does not rest on an international agreement nor have formal admission criteria, a charter or a permanent secretariat. Its decisions are formulated as the political commitments of the Member States.

The G8 also has working and expert groups and task forces. As of now, there are the High Level Group on Non-proliferation, the Rome/Lyons Group (on terrorism and organized crime), the Counter-Terrorism Expert Group, the G8 Personal Representatives for Africa, the Global Partnership Senior Officials Group, the G8 Non-proliferation Experts Group (with a plutonium subgroup), the Nuclear Safety and Security Group, and several others. G8 holds an average of 60 to 80 functions annually. The next summit, in 2007, will be hosted by Germany.

Page 1 of 1